This is the "Pathfinder" page of the "Violence in the Media" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Violence in the Media  

Last Updated: Feb 9, 2012 URL: http://libguides.broward.edu/Violence_in_the_Media Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis
Pathfinder Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Definition

“Violence - Physical force exerted for the purpose of violating, damaging, or abusing. Media - The means of communication, as radio, TV, newspapers, magazines, and Internet, that reach very large number of people.” (The World Book Encyclopedia, 1994)

 

Keywords

  • Violence in Mass Media
  • Violence in Television
  • Violence in Motion Pictures
  • Mass Media
  • Murder in Mass Media
 

Finding Books

Books
Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.


eBooks
eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.

Note: You will have to login with your BC ID# and Your default PIN is a 4 digit code based on your birth date: MMDD. (For example, if you were born on July 04, your PIN is 0704.) Updated on 01/25/12, DT.

 

Video

It is no secret that video games and television programs often depict graphic violence. But now, three new studies show violence causes children, teenagers and young adults to behave more aggressively than those who watch non-violent media.

Google It




 

Narrow the topic

  • What is the effect of Telecommunication Act of 1996?
  • Is there a correlation between violence in the media and crime?
  • What is the V-chip and how would it work?
  • Is the media a scapegoat for society’s problems?
  • Is television news too violent (“if it bleeds it leads…”)?
  • Will rating television shows have any effect?
  • How do violent video games effect children?
  • How can parents reduce the time their children watch television?
 

Reference Books

Cover Art
Is Media Violence a Problem? - Devid M. Haugen
Call Number: HQ784.M3 I8 2010
ISBN: 9780737723984

Cover Art
Media Violence - David M. Haugen and Susan Musser
Call Number: P96.V5 M426 2009
ISBN: 9780737742183


Cover Art
Video Games - David M. Haugen
Call Number: GV1469.34.S52 V54 2008
ISBN: 9780737736977

Violence in Film and Television - James D. Torr
Call Number: PN1995.9.V5 V565 2002
ISBN: 9780737708653

Cover Art
Salem health: psychology & mental health
Call Number: REF BF 636 .P86 2010

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of interpersonal violence
Call Number: REF HM1121 .E57 2008
"Child Exposure to Violence, in Media" "Media Violence"

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of children, adolescents, and teh media
Call Number: REF HQ784.M3 E53 2007
"Aggression" "Violence," "Electronic Games," "Television Violence," "Sexualized Violence"

 
 

Finding Articles

Find Magazine/Journal Articles

Search full-text magazine/journal articles. Login required!

Suggested Databases

  • CQ Researcher Plus Archive  
      
    CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, and graphs.
  • Issues and Controversies  
      
    Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
  • Opposing Viewpoints  
      
    Opposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more social issues.
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
  • America's Newspapers  
      
    America's Newspapers from NewsBank provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers - all in one easy-to-search database.
  • Subject Specific Databases
 

Login Required

[BC Library Card]

To log in to the library databases, e-books, and My Account, use your BC student ID number as your Borrower ID. Your PIN is now your birthday in MMDD format (for example, if your birthday is July 4th, your PIN is 0704). If you are having difficulty accessing from off-campus, please contact the U/C library at 954.201.6653 or 954.201.6223.

Cite Your Sources

Eventually, all students have to learn to properly cite their sources for their research. Some classes require MLA style, while others use APA. This page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)

  • MLA Update 2009
    In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
    These changes go into effect in April 2009.
  • Sample of MLA Work Cited Page
    From Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
  • Citation Builder - NCSU
    Citation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip