This is the "Pathfinder" page of the "Torture" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Torture  

Last Updated: Feb 9, 2012 URL: http://libguides.broward.edu/Torture Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis
Pathfinder Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Definition

"1 (a). Infliction of severe physical pain as a means of punishment or coercion. 1 (b). An instrument or a method for inflicting such pain. 2. Excruciating physical or mental pain; agony: the torture of waiting in suspense. 3. Something causing severe pain or anguish." (The American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language. Fourth Edition. 2000. Available online: http://www.bartleby.com/reference/ )

 

Keywords

  • Torture

  • Criminal procedure

  • Cruelty

  • Evidence

  • Criminal

  • Punishment

  • Political persecution

  • Human rights

 

Finding Books

Books
Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.


eBooks
eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.

Note: You will have to login with your BC ID# and Your default PIN is a 4 digit code based on your birth date: MMDD. (For example, if you were born on July 04, your PIN is 0704.) Updated on 01/25/12, DT.

Google It




 

Narrow the topic

  • How can we define political torture?
  • Should torture be used in instances of national security?
  • What is the recent history of the use of torture?
  • What are the ethical issues related to torture?
  • Does torture happen in the United States?
  • What is psychological torture and when has it been used?
  • Are prisoners of war tortured?
  • Is torture ever justified?
  • When is torture found in domestic abuse?
  • What can American and British military do to prevent more torture incidents like the ones alleged in Iraqi prisons?
  • Are prison and police detention forms of legal torture?
 

Reference Books

Cover Art
How Should the United States Treat Prisoners in the War on Terror?
Call Number: Ref Desk HV 6432 .H696 2005

Cover Art
Human Rights
Call Number: Ref Desk JC 571 H866 2008

Cover Art
Terrorism
Call Number: Ref Desk HV 6431 .T4576 2009

Cover Art
Torture
Call Number: Ref Desk HV 8593 .T6619 2009

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of interpersonal violence
Call Number: REF HM1121 .E57 2008

Cover Art
The Corsini encyclopedia of psychology
Call Number: REF BF31 .E52 2010

 
 

Finding Articles

Find Magazine/Journal Articles

Search full-text magazine/journal articles. Login required!

Suggested Databases

  • CQ Researcher Plus Archive  
      
    CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, and graphs.
  • Issues and Controversies  
      
    Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
  • Opposing Viewpoints  
      
    Opposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more social issues.
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
  • America's Newspapers  
      
    America's Newspapers from NewsBank provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers - all in one easy-to-search database.
  • Subject Specific Databases
 

Login Required

[BC Library Card]

To log in to the library databases, e-books, and My Account, use your BC student ID number as your Borrower ID. Your PIN is now your birthday in MMDD format (for example, if your birthday is July 4th, your PIN is 0704). If you are having difficulty accessing from off-campus, please contact the U/C library at 954.201.6653 or 954.201.6223.

Cite Your Sources

Eventually, all students have to learn to properly cite their sources for their research. Some classes require MLA style, while others use APA. This page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)

  • MLA Update 2009
    In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
    These changes go into effect in April 2009.
  • Sample of MLA Work Cited Page
    From Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
  • Citation Builder - NCSU
    Citation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip