This is the "Pathfinder" page of the "Medical Marijuana" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Image Map

Medical Marijuana  

Last Updated: Oct 8, 2014 URL: http://libguides.broward.edu/medical_marijuana Print Guide Email Alerts
Pathfinder Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Related Keywords

  • Cannabis Sativa
  • Marijuana -- Therapeutic use
  • Chronic Disease -- drug therapy -- United States.
  • Cannabinoids -- Therapeutic use
  • Materia medica, Vegetable
  • Marijuan -- Law and legislation
  • Cannabis -- Therapeutic use

 

Print Books

Cover Art
Medical Marijuana - Lynn Zott (Editor)
Call Number: RM666.C266 M432 2013
ISBN: 0737760567

Cover Art
Pot, Inc.: inside medical marijuana, America’s most outlaw industry - Greg Campbell
Call Number: RM666.C266 C34 2012
ISBN: 1402779259

Cover Art
Cannabiz: the explosive rise of the medical marijuana industry - John Geluardi
Call Number: RM666.C266 G45 2010
ISBN: 0982417195

Cover Art
Information Plus Alcohol, Tobacco and Illicit Drug - Gale Editor (Editor)
Call Number: REF HV 4999.2.A433 2011
ISBN: 1414448538

Cover Art
Culture Wars in America - Roger Chapman (Editor); James Ciment (Editor)
Call Number: REF HM1121 .C85 2014
ISBN: 0765683024

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Substance Abuse Prevention, Treatment, and Recovery - Nancy A. Roget (Editor); Gary L. Fisher (Editor)
Call Number: REF RC563.4 .E53 2009
ISBN: 1412950848

 

Definition

Medical Marijuana:  marijuana, which is derived from the dried leaves and flowers of the herbal plant Cannabis sativa, is used illegally as a recreational drug but also legally when prescribed for medicinal and therapeutic uses.

(Salem Health Addictions and Substance Abuse, 2013)

 

Narrow the topic

  • Should medical marijuana be legal?
  • Will medical marijuana will open door to full legalization of marijuana?
  • How does the government regulate and monitor the medical marijuana dispensaries?
  • What are some challenges facing states that have legalized the use of medical marijuana?
  • What affect would the legalizing of marijuana have on drug trafficking in the United States?
  • Should marijuana use be regulated by the federal government?
  • How does stated legalization conflict with the federal law?
  • Is medical marijuana useful in reducing pain compared to other therapies?

 

 

Electronic Books on Medical Marijuana

Cover Art
Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine - Laurie J. Fundukian (Editor)
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781414448725
Publication Date: 2009

Cover Art
Addictions and Substance Abuse - Robin Kamienny Montvilo (Editor)
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 158765959X
Publication Date: 2013

Cover Art
Understanding Marijuana - Mitch Earleywine
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 0195138937
Publication Date: 2002

Cover Art
Cannabinoids As Therapeutics - Raphael Mechoulam
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 376437358X
Publication Date: 2005

Suggested Databases

  • Academic OneFile (Gale)
    Academic OneFile provides peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. It includes coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and, other subjects.
  • Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
    Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
  • America's News (NewsBank)
    America's News from NewsBank provides diverse source types, which include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos - all in one easy-to-search database. Each source provides unique coverage, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community.
  • CQ Researcher Plus Archive (CQ Press)
    CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, graphs and sidebar articles.
  • Issues & Controversies (Facts on File)
    Issues & Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
  • Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale)
    Opposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more concerning social issues.
  • Subject Specific Databases
 

Films On Demand Video Collection

Below are some titles in our Films On Demand Video Collection on the topic of medical marijuana and its legalization. Your ID# and pin (MMDD) are required to access the videos.

  • Marijuana: Medical Uses
  • Cannabis - Tradition
  • Cannabis - Horticultural Challenges
  • Medical Use of Cannabis
  • Legalization of Marijuana
  • Marijuana: Legal or Illegal?
 

Finding Books

Books
Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple keyword search, please use the search box below.

Note: To access eBooks, you have to login with your BC ID# and Your default PIN is a 4 digit code based on your birth date: MMDD. (For example, if you were born on July 04, your PIN is 0704.) Updated on 08/25/14, DT.

 

Login Required

[BC Library Card]

To log in to the library databases, e-books, and My Account, use your BC student ID number as your Borrower ID. Your PIN is now your birthday in MMDD format (for example, if your birthday is July 4th, your PIN is 0704). If you are having difficulty accessing from off-campus, please contact the U/C library at 954.201.6653 or 954.201.6223.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip