This is the "Pathfinder" page of the "Living Wage" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Living Wage  

Last Updated: Feb 9, 2010 URL: http://libguides.broward.edu/Living_Wage Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis
Pathfinder Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Video

Makes the case for a living wage for all working families in Georgia. Designed in particular for members of faith communities and their congregations. In addition to facts and figures, video includes interviews with a single mom earning less than than a living wage, living wage advocates, and clergy representing Christian, Islamic, and Jewish faith traditions, all of whom present the moral case for a living wage.

 

Keywords

  • Wages – United States
  • Poverty – United States
  • Wages – law and legislation –United States
  • Urban poor – United States
  • Living wage movement – United States
 

Finding Books

Books
Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.


eBooks
eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.

Note: You will have to login with your BC ID# and Your default PIN is a 4 digit code based on your birth date: MMDD. (For example, if you were born on July 04, your PIN is 0704.) Updated on 01/25/12, DT.

Suggested Websites

  • Living Wage Campaign
    A series of resources
  • Fair Economy.org
    "We are a movement support organization, providing media capacity, face-to-face economic literacy education, and training resources to organizations and individuals who work to address the widening income and asset gaps in our country".
  • Economic Policy Institute
    "The Economic Policy Institute, a nonprofit Washington D.C. think tank, was created in 1986 to broaden the discussion about economic policy to include the interests of low- and middle-income workers."

Google It




 

Definition

"A range of initiatives across the United States that have sought to raise employee wages in order to create economic security for low-income workers." (Work in America: An Encyclopedia of History, Policy, and Society)

 

Narrow the topic

  • If a company pays a living wage, does it reduce employee turnover and absenteeism, increase productivity, increase morale and commitment to the company?

  • Are living wage laws working?
  • Should living wage laws be expanded beyond public employees and companies that receive publicly funded contracts?
  • Does living wage legislation create hostile business climates?
 

Reference Books

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of U.S. Labor and Working-Class History
Call Number: REF HD 8066 .A78 2006

Cover Art
Historical Encyclopedia of American Labor
Call Number: REF HD 8066 .H57 2004 v. 1 pg. 162

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of World Poverty
Call Number: REF HV 12 .E54 2006 v.1

Cover Art
Poverty in the United States: An Encyclopedia of History, Politics and Policy
Call Number: REF HC 110 .P6 P598 2004 v.2

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Business Ethics and Society
Call Number: REF HF 5387 .E53 2008

 

Suggested Databases

  • CQ Researcher Plus Archive  
      
    CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, and graphs.
  • Issues and Controversies  
      
    Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
  • Opposing Viewpoints  
      
    Opposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more social issues.
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
  • America's Newspapers  
      
    America's Newspapers from NewsBank provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers - all in one easy-to-search database.
  • Subject Specific Databases

How can I help you?

Profile Image
Suzette Spencer
Contact Info
Reference/Instruction Coordinator
University/College Library at Broward College
Central Campus
Davie, FL 33314
(954) 201-6484
Send Email
 

Login Required

[BC Library Card]

To log in to the library databases, e-books, and My Account, use your BC student ID number as your Borrower ID. Your PIN is now your birthday in MMDD format (for example, if your birthday is July 4th, your PIN is 0704). If you are having difficulty accessing from off-campus, please contact the U/C library at 954.201.6653 or 954.201.6223.

Cite Your Sources

Eventually, all students have to learn to properly cite their sources for their research. Some classes require MLA style, while others use APA. This page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)

  • MLA Update 2009
    In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
    These changes go into effect in April 2009.
  • Sample of MLA Work Cited Page
    From Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
  • Citation Builder - NCSU
    Citation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip