Definition
“Sexual intercourse between closely related individuals within degrees wherein marriage is prohibited by law or custom.” Encyclopedia of Mental Health
Keywords
- Incest
- Sex Crimes
Finding Books
Books
Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.
eBooks
eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.
Note: You will have to login with your BC ID# and Your default PIN is a 4 digit code based on your birth date: MMDD. (For example, if you were born on July 04, your PIN is 0704.) Updated on 01/25/12, DT.
Also Available at the Desk




Suggested Websites
- National Center for Victims of Crime"The National Center for Victims of Crime is the nation's leading resource and advocacy organization for crime victims and those who serve them. Since its inception in 1985, the National Center has worked with grassroots organizations and criminal justice agencies throughout the United States serving millions of crime victims."
- RAINN: Rape, Abuse, and Incest National Network"The Rape, Abuse & Incest National Network is the nation's largest anti-sexual assault organization. RAINN operates the National Sexual Assault Hotline at 1.800.656.HOPE and the National Sexual Assault Online Hotline at rainn.org, and publicizes the hotline's free, confidential services; educates the public about sexual assault; and leads national efforts to prevent sexual assault, improve services to victims and ensure that rapists are brought to justice."
Google It
Narrow the topic
- Why is incest a universal taboo?
- Are there scientific reasons for this taboo?
- What is covert incest?
- What are signs of incest?
- Why would a child be afraid to tell someone about incest?
- What are the psychological effects of incest?
- What treatment is recommended for victims of incest?
- Should families in which incest has occurred be separated?
- Should the accusing child be removed from the family?
Reference Books



Finding Articles
Search full-text magazine/journal articles. Login required!
Suggested Databases
- CQ Researcher Plus Archive CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, and graphs.
- Issues and Controversies Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
- Opposing Viewpoints Opposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more social issues.
- Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
- America's Newspapers America's Newspapers from NewsBank provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers - all in one easy-to-search database.
- Subject Specific Databases
Need Help? Ask us!
| Library Hours Research Consultation |
|
| 954.201.6653 954.201.6223 |
|
| refucl@broward.edu | |
| Ask-a-Librarian |
Updated on: 07/15/2011
Login Required
To log in to the library databases, e-books, and My Account, use your BC student ID number as your Borrower ID. Your PIN is now your birthday in MMDD format (for example, if your birthday is July 4th, your PIN is 0704). If you are having difficulty accessing from off-campus, please contact the U/C library at 954.201.6653 or 954.201.6223.
Cite Your Sources
Eventually, all students have to learn to properly cite their sources for their research. Some classes require MLA style, while others use APA. This page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)
- MLA Update 2009In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
These changes go into effect in April 2009. - Sample of MLA Work Cited PageFrom Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
- Citation Builder - NCSUCitation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.

![[BC Library Card]](http://ucl.broward.edu/gif/BCID.gif)
Loading...
