Definition
“Foreigners who enter or reside in a country unlawfully or without proper documentation.” (American Justice, Vol. II)
Keywords
- Undocumented Alien
- Undocumented Immigrant
- Illegal Aliens;
- Labor Market—Aliens, Illegal;
- Immigration and Emigration—Aliens,
- Illegal; U.S. Immigration & Naturalization Service
Finding Books
Books
Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.
eBooks
eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.
Note: You will have to login with your BC ID# and Your default PIN is a 4 digit code based on your birth date: MMDD. (For example, if you were born on July 04, your PIN is 0704.) Updated on 01/25/12, DT.
Illegal Aliens
Do illegal workers hurt wages and working conditions? The debate
Statistics
- U.S. Immigration and Naturalization Service.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. (Also available in print at the Reference Desk)
- Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics The Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics brings together data from more than 100 sources about many aspects of criminal justice in the United States.
- Gallup Poll: Public OpinionAvailable in print at the reference desk
Google It
Narrow the topic
- Do illegal immigrants bring harmful cultural values into U.S. culture?
- Are immigrants a burden on the United States education and welfare system
- Can the challenges posed by illegal immigrants be solved by economic and policy reforms?
- Do illegal immigrants displace American workers?
- Contrast the positive and negative effects of passing the Dream Act for undocumented students?
- Will a fence along the border with Mexico be successful in discouraging illegal immigration?
- How has the terrorist attack of 9-11 changed immigration patterns and detection?
- What new technologies (drone aircraft, etc.) have been employed to prevent illegal border crossings ?
- What is the Civil Liberties Restoration Act of 2004?
Reference Books

"Immigration Policy"
Finding Articles
Search full-text magazine/journal articles. Login required!
Suggested Databases
- CQ Researcher Plus Archive CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, and graphs.
- Issues and Controversies Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
- Opposing Viewpoints Opposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more social issues.
- Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
- America's Newspapers America's Newspapers from NewsBank provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers - all in one easy-to-search database.
- Subject Specific Databases
Video
Need Help? Ask us!
| Library Hours Research Consultation |
|
| 954.201.6653 954.201.6223 |
|
| refucl@broward.edu | |
| Ask-a-Librarian |
Updated on: 07/15/2011
Login Required
To log in to the library databases, e-books, and My Account, use your BC student ID number as your Borrower ID. Your PIN is now your birthday in MMDD format (for example, if your birthday is July 4th, your PIN is 0704). If you are having difficulty accessing from off-campus, please contact the U/C library at 954.201.6653 or 954.201.6223.
Cite Your Sources
Eventually, all students have to learn to properly cite their sources for their research. Some classes require MLA style, while others use APA. This page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)
- MLA Update 2009In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
These changes go into effect in April 2009. - Sample of MLA Work Cited PageFrom Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
- Citation Builder - NCSUCitation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.
![[BC Library Card]](http://ucl.broward.edu/gif/BCID.gif)
Loading...
