This is the "Pathfinder" page of the "Hurricanes" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Hurricanes  

Last Updated: Apr 22, 2011 URL: http://libguides.broward.edu/Hurricanes Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis
Pathfinder Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Definition

“A hurricane is a cyclone of tropical origin with wind speeds of at least 74 miles per hour.” (Encyclopedia of Climate and Weather)


 

Keywords

  • Hurricanes
  • United States. Federal Emergency Relief Administration
  • Disaster Relief
  • atural disasters
  • Weather forecasting
 

Hurricane Wilma 2005

 

Finding Books

Books
Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.


eBooks
eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.

Note: You will have to login with your BC ID# and Your default PIN is a 4 digit code based on your birth date: MMDD. (For example, if you were born on July 04, your PIN is 0704.) Updated on 01/25/12, DT.

 

Narrow the topic

  • Should the state or private companies be responsible for wind damage insurance?
  • Should coastal homes destroyed by a hurricane be rebuilt?
  • What are the most effective changes that can be made to building codes to prevent storm damage?
  • What happened to cloud seeding?
  • Who should make the decision to evacuate an area or close offices, schools, etc. and should they be legally liable for those decisions?
  • What are the advances and problems in meteorological forecasting?
  • Is there a link between hurricanes and global warming?
  • What can be learned from the disaster response to Hurricane Frances and Ivan in 2004?

 

Reference Books

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences
Call Number: REF QC 944 .L66 2008
ISBN: 012227430X
“Tropical Cyclones”

Cover Art
Everglades Handbook: Understanding the Ecosystem
Call Number: REF QH105 .F6 L63 2005
ISBN: 1566706149

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Environment and Society
Call Number: REF HM 856 .E53 2007
ISBN: 1412927617

Weather Almanac
Call Number: RF QC 983 W38 2004

Cover Art
Culture wars: an encyclopedia of issues, viewpoints, and voices
Call Number: REF HN90.M6 U85 2010
"Hurricane Katrina"

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of environmental ethics and philosophy
Call Number: REF GE42 .E533 2009
"Hurricane Katrina"

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of global warming and climate change
Call Number: REF QC981.8.G56 E47 2008

 

Suggested Databases

  • CQ Researcher Plus Archive  
      
    CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, and graphs.
  • Issues and Controversies  
      
    Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
  • Opposing Viewpoints  
      
    Opposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more social issues.
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
  • America's Newspapers  
      
    America's Newspapers from NewsBank provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers - all in one easy-to-search database.
  • Subject Specific Databases
 

HURRICANE KATRINA

 

Login Required

[BC Library Card]

To log in to the library databases, e-books, and My Account, use your BC student ID number as your Borrower ID. Your PIN is now your birthday in MMDD format (for example, if your birthday is July 4th, your PIN is 0704). If you are having difficulty accessing from off-campus, please contact the U/C library at 954.201.6653 or 954.201.6223.

Cite Your Sources

Eventually, all students have to learn to properly cite their sources for their research. Some classes require MLA style, while others use APA. This page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)

  • MLA Update 2009
    In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
    These changes go into effect in April 2009.
  • Sample of MLA Work Cited Page
    From Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
  • Citation Builder - NCSU
    Citation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.

Google It




Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip