This is the "Pathfinder" page of the "Human Rights" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Human Rights  

Last Updated: Apr 22, 2011 URL: http://libguides.broward.edu/Human_Rights Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis
Pathfinder Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Definition

"Human rights are a special sort of inalienable moral entitlement. They attach to all persons equally, simply by virtue of their humanity, irrespective of race, nationality, or membership of any particular social group. They specify minimum conditions for human dignity and a tolerable life." (The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Politics)

 

 

Keywords

  • Human Rights
  • Civil Rights
  • Women's Rights
  • Apartheid
  • Genocide
  • Universal Declaration of Human Rights
 

Human Rights Video

 

Finding Books

Books
Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.


eBooks
eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.

Note: You will have to login with your BC ID# and Your default PIN is a 4 digit code based on your birth date: MMDD. (For example, if you were born on July 04, your PIN is 0704.) Updated on 01/25/12, DT.

 

Narrow the topic

  • How should human rights be defined?
  • What are the basic human rights?
  • What is the Universal Declaration of Human Rights?
  • What is the state of human rights?
  • What should be done to stop human rights abuses?
  • How should the world respond to crimes against humanity
  • How productive is the Western pressure on human rights in Asia?
  • Is the United States' torture policy hypocritical?
  • Select a specific country such as China or Indonesia and discuss human rights and democracy in that country.

 

Reference Books

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Politics and Religion
Call Number: REF BL 65 .P7 E53 2007
ISBN: 0872893235

Cover Art
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
Call Number: REF H 40 .A2 I5 2008
ISBN: 002865966X

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Politics: The Left and Right
Call Number: REF JA 61 .E54 2005 v.1
ISBN: 1412904099

Cover Art
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern World
Call Number: REF D 205 .O94 2008 v.1
ISBN: 0195176324

Cover Art
Globalization: Encyclopedia of Trade, Labor, and Politics
Call Number: REF HF 1359 .G5854 2006 v.2 p. 802-809
ISBN: 1576078264

Cover Art
Culture wars: an encyclopedia of issues, viewpoints, and voices
Call Number: REF HN90.M6 U85 2010

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of human rights
Call Number: REF JC571 .E673 2009

Cover Art
Oxford encyclopedia of African thought
Call Number: REF DT14 .O97 2010

 

Suggested Databases

  • CQ Researcher Plus Archive  
      
    CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, and graphs.
  • Issues and Controversies  
      
    Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
  • Opposing Viewpoints  
      
    Opposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more social issues.
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
  • America's Newspapers  
      
    America's Newspapers from NewsBank provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers - all in one easy-to-search database.
  • Subject Specific Databases
 

Login Required

[BC Library Card]

To log in to the library databases, e-books, and My Account, use your BC student ID number as your Borrower ID. Your PIN is now your birthday in MMDD format (for example, if your birthday is July 4th, your PIN is 0704). If you are having difficulty accessing from off-campus, please contact the U/C library at 954.201.6653 or 954.201.6223.

Cite Your Sources

Eventually, all students have to learn to properly cite their sources for their research. Some classes require MLA style, while others use APA. This page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)

  • MLA Update 2009
    In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
    These changes go into effect in April 2009.
  • Sample of MLA Work Cited Page
    From Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
  • Citation Builder - NCSU
    Citation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.

Google It




Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip