This is the "Pathfinder" page of the "Honor Killing" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Honor Killing  

Last Updated: Apr 22, 2011 URL: http://libguides.broward.edu/Honor_Killing Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis
Pathfinder Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Definition

Honor killing is the practice of male relatives killing a female family member accused of bringing shame upon the family, often because of adultery, divorce, rape, or lesser offenses.  

Although most common in the Middle East and parts of South Asia, the murders also occur in any culture that believes a woman is the property of her family.” Historical Dictionary of Feminism


 

Keywords

  • Honor Killing
  • Honour Killing
 

Do Kids Really Need Homework?

 

Finding Books

Books
Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.


eBooks
eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.

Note: You will have to login with your BC ID# and Your default PIN is a 4 digit code based on your birth date: MMDD. (For example, if you were born on July 04, your PIN is 0704.) Updated on 01/25/12, DT.

Google It




 

Narrow the topic

  • Who was Samia Imran?
  • What constitutes an immoral or shameful act?
  • Why is it difficult to find statistics on this topic?
  • Are there laws in place to protect women from this crime?
  • Do accused women have an opportunity to face their accusers and/or defend  themselves?
  • How are the men who commit the murders treated?
  • Is this practice based on religious doctrine or tribal customs?
  • Is the concept of women’s rights culturally relevant to deeply patriarchal societies?
  • What efforts are being made to combat honor killings?  How successful have these efforts been?
  • Would education and exposure to women’s rights issues help solve this problem?

 

 

Reference Books

Cover Art
International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family.
Call Number: REF HQ. E52. P. 1962
ISBN: 0028656725

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Women Social Reformers.
Call Number: REF HQ. 1236. R29. P.339-340
ISBN: 1576071014

Cover Art
Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women’s Issues Worldwide
Call Number: REF HQ 1115 .G74, V. 4, p.97, p. 164-65, p. 226-27
ISBN: 0313327874

Cover Art
Continuum Complete International Encyclopedia of Sexuality
Call Number: REF HQ 21 .I68 2004
ISBN: 0826414885

Cover Art
Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women
Call Number: REF HQ 1115 .R69 p. 661
ISBN: 0415920892

 

Suggested Databases

  • CQ Researcher Plus Archive  
      
    CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, and graphs.
  • Issues and Controversies  
      
    Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
  • Opposing Viewpoints  
      
    Opposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more social issues.
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
  • America's Newspapers  
      
    America's Newspapers from NewsBank provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers - all in one easy-to-search database.
  • Subject Specific Databases
 

Login Required

[BC Library Card]

To log in to the library databases, e-books, and My Account, use your BC student ID number as your Borrower ID. Your PIN is now your birthday in MMDD format (for example, if your birthday is July 4th, your PIN is 0704). If you are having difficulty accessing from off-campus, please contact the U/C library at 954.201.6653 or 954.201.6223.

Cite Your Sources

Eventually, all students have to learn to properly cite their sources for their research. Some classes require MLA style, while others use APA. This page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)

  • MLA Update 2009
    In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
    These changes go into effect in April 2009.
  • Sample of MLA Work Cited Page
    From Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
  • Citation Builder - NCSU
    Citation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip