This is the "Pathfinder" page of the "Homeless" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Homeless  

Last Updated: Apr 22, 2011 URL: http://libguides.broward.edu/Homeless Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis
Pathfinder Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Definition

“An individual who lacks a fixed, regular, and adequate nighttime residence or an individual who resides in a shelter or a public place not designed for a regular sleeping place.” (Homeless in America, 1995)

 

 

Keywords

  • Homeless
  • Homelessness
  • Homeless Children
  • Homeless Women
 

Atlanta's Leaders Plan to End Homelessness

 

Finding Books

Books
Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.


eBooks
eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.

Note: You will have to login with your BC ID# and Your default PIN is a 4 digit code based on your birth date: MMDD. (For example, if you were born on July 04, your PIN is 0704.) Updated on 01/25/12, DT.

Google It




 

Narrow the topic

  • Should crimes against the homeless be considered hate crimes?

  • Why are there so many homeless people in the United States?

  • Who are the homeless?

  • What is poverty and how is poverty related to homelessness?

  • Should the government provide more affordable housing?

  • Can care for the homeless be privatized?

  • How can the children of the homeless be educated?

  • Are people left homeless by hurricanes receiving appropriate assistance?

  • Should the government provide help to homeless children?

  • Homelessness is a complex issue caused by a variety of factors such as economic factor, family breakdown, mental illness, lack of fordable housing, drug abuse and alcoholism. Concentrate on one issue and do in-depth research on that issue.

  • Compare homelessness in the United States with another country.

  • How can "sport killings" and "bumfights" be discouraged?

 

Reference Books

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Juvenile Violence
Call Number: REF HV 9104 .E59 2007
ISBN: 0313336822

Cover Art
Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health
Call Number: REF RC 437 .G36 2008
ISBN: 1414429878

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Social Welfare History
Call Number: REF HV 12 .E497 2005
ISBN: 0761925848

Cover Art
Poverty in the United States: An Encyclopedia of History, Politics and Policy
Call Number: REF HC 110 .P6 P598 2004 v.1
ISBN: 1576075974

Cover Art
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
Call Number: REF H 40 .A2 I5 2008

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of urban studies
Call Number: REF HT108.5 .E634 2010

 

Suggested Databases

  • CQ Researcher Plus Archive  
      
    CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, and graphs.
  • Issues and Controversies  
      
    Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
  • Opposing Viewpoints  
      
    Opposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more social issues.
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
  • America's Newspapers  
      
    America's Newspapers from NewsBank provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers - all in one easy-to-search database.
  • Subject Specific Databases
 

Homelessness in Focus

 

Login Required

[BC Library Card]

To log in to the library databases, e-books, and My Account, use your BC student ID number as your Borrower ID. Your PIN is now your birthday in MMDD format (for example, if your birthday is July 4th, your PIN is 0704). If you are having difficulty accessing from off-campus, please contact the U/C library at 954.201.6653 or 954.201.6223.

Cite Your Sources

Eventually, all students have to learn to properly cite their sources for their research. Some classes require MLA style, while others use APA. This page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)

  • MLA Update 2009
    In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
    These changes go into effect in April 2009.
  • Sample of MLA Work Cited Page
    From Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
  • Citation Builder - NCSU
    Citation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip