This is the "Pathfinder" page of the "Hate Crimes" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Hate Crimes  

Last Updated: Apr 22, 2011 URL: http://libguides.broward.edu/Hate_Crimes Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis
Pathfinder Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Definition

“Criminal acts motivated by hatred of and directed against the members of a particular group.” (American Justice

 

Keywords

  • Hate Crimes;
  • Ku Klux Klan;
  • Homophobia; 
  • Gays—Crimes Against; 
  • Afro-Americans—Crimes Against;
  • White Supremacy Movements.
 

Take Action Against Hate Crimes

 

Finding Books

Books
Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.


eBooks
eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.

Note: You will have to login with your BC ID# and Your default PIN is a 4 digit code based on your birth date: MMDD. (For example, if you were born on July 04, your PIN is 0704.) Updated on 01/25/12, DT.

Google It




 

Narrow the topic

  • What can citizens do to stop hate crimes?

  • Are hate crimes against gays rising?

  • Does the religious right promote hate crimes?

  • Do hate crime laws endanger freedom of speech?

  • Should hate speech be banned from the Internet?

  • Should victims of hate crimes be able to sue their attackers?

  • Should hate speech be protected by free speech laws?

  • Are church burnings an example of hate crimes?

  • Focus on individuals or groups such as David Duke, the KKK, or skinheads.

  • Are militias tied to hate crimes?

 

Reference Books

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Psychology & Law
Call Number: REF K 346 .E53 2008

Cover Art
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
Call Number: REF H 40 .A2 I5 2008

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of violence, peace and conflict
Call Number: REF HM291 .E625

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Human Development
Call Number: REF HM 626 .E53 2006

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of American Civil Rights & Liberties
Call Number: REF KF 4748 .E53 2006

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of the United States Constitution
Call Number: REF KF4548.5 .S38 2009

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of religion and the law in America
Call Number: REF KF4865.A68 A54 2009

Cover Art
Culture wars: an encyclopedia of issues, viewpoints, and voices
Call Number: REF HN90.M6 U85 2010

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of interpersonal violence
Call Number: REF HM1121 .E57 2008

Cover Art
The militia movement and hate groups in America
Call Number: E184.A1 M54 1996

Cover Art
Atlas of crime :mapping the criminal landscape
Call Number: REF HV6783 .A85 2000

 

Suggested Databases

  • CQ Researcher Plus Archive  
      
    CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, and graphs.
  • Issues and Controversies  
      
    Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
  • Opposing Viewpoints  
      
    Opposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more social issues.
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
  • America's Newspapers  
      
    America's Newspapers from NewsBank provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers - all in one easy-to-search database.
  • Subject Specific Databases
 

Login Required

[BC Library Card]

To log in to the library databases, e-books, and My Account, use your BC student ID number as your Borrower ID. Your PIN is now your birthday in MMDD format (for example, if your birthday is July 4th, your PIN is 0704). If you are having difficulty accessing from off-campus, please contact the U/C library at 954.201.6653 or 954.201.6223.

Cite Your Sources

Eventually, all students have to learn to properly cite their sources for their research. Some classes require MLA style, while others use APA. This page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)

  • MLA Update 2009
    In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
    These changes go into effect in April 2009.
  • Sample of MLA Work Cited Page
    From Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
  • Citation Builder - NCSU
    Citation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip