This is the "Pathfinder" page of the "Global Warming" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Greenhouse Effect and Climate Changes
Last Updated: Dec 1, 2010 URL: http://libguides.broward.edu/Global_Warming Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis
Pathfinder Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Keywords

  • Bioclimatic
  • Climatic Changes
  • Ecological
  • Global Warming
  • Greenhouse Effect
  • Greenhouse Gases
  • Ozone Layer Depletion
  • Renewable Energy Sources
 

Nasa on Global Warming

 

Finding Books

Books
Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.


eBooks
eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.

Note: You will have to login with your BC ID# and Your default PIN is a 4 digit code based on your birth date: MMDD. (For example, if you were born on July 04, your PIN is 0704.) Updated on 01/25/12, DT.

Google It




 

Definition

"Global warming is an increase in the average temperature of Earth's surface."
The World Book Encyclopedia 2006

“Greenhouse effect is a warming of the lower atmosphere and surface of a planet by a complex process involving sunlight, gases, and particles in the atmosphere.”
The World Book Encyclopedia 2006

 

Narrow the topic

  • What is the difference between greenhouse effect and global warming?
  • What are the greenhouse gases and why are they important to us?
  • Should we be concerned about global warming?
  • Is the greenhouse effect a serious threat?
  • Is the world actually getting warmer?
  • Why is glacial melt a concern?
  • Is ozone depletion a genuine threat?
  • Discuss the effect of global warming on a particular region such as Alaska.
  • Should the United States sign the United Nations' Kyoto Protocol?
  • Should the Environmental Protection Agency have the authority to regulate carbon dioxide and other greenhouse gases from motor vehicles and power plants?
 

Reference Books

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change - S. George Philander, editor
Call Number: REF QC981.8.G56 E47 2008
ISBN: 1412958784


Cover Art
Encyclopedia of environmental ethics and philosophy
Call Number: REF GE42 .E533 2009
"Global Climate Change"

Cover Art
Climate change: in context
Call Number: REF QC981.8.C5 C5114123 2008

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of global resources
Call Number: REF HC85 .E49 2010
"Greenhouse gases and global climate change"

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of global warming and climate change
Call Number: REF QC981.8.G56 E47 2008

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of global warming
Call Number: REF QC981.8.G56 E46 2010

 

Suggested Databases

  • CQ Researcher Plus Archive  
      
    CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, and graphs.
  • Issues and Controversies  
      
    Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
  • Opposing Viewpoints  
      
    Opposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more social issues.
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
  • America's Newspapers  
      
    America's Newspapers from NewsBank provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers - all in one easy-to-search database.
  • Subject Specific Databases
 

Statistics

Cover Art
OECD environmental outlook to 2030.
Call Number: REF HC79.E5 .O325 2008
"Climate Change"

Cover Art
Environmental resource handbook
Call Number: REF GE20 .E585

 

Contact Information

Profile Image
Judi Tidwell
Contact Info
17-114
954-201-6489
Send Email
 

Login Required

[BC Library Card]

To log in to the library databases, e-books, and My Account, use your BC student ID number as your Borrower ID. Your PIN is now your birthday in MMDD format (for example, if your birthday is July 4th, your PIN is 0704). If you are having difficulty accessing from off-campus, please contact the U/C library at 954.201.6653 or 954.201.6223.

Cite Your Sources

Eventually, all students have to learn to properly cite their sources for their research. Some classes require MLA style, while others use APA. This page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)

  • MLA Update 2009
    In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
    These changes go into effect in April 2009.
  • Sample of MLA Work Cited Page
    From Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
  • Citation Builder - NCSU
    Citation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip