This is the "Home" page of the "Genocide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Last Updated: May 26, 2011 URL: http://libguides.broward.edu/Genocide Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Keywords

  • Crimes Against Humanity
  • Ethnic Cleansing
  • Holocaust
  • Human Rights Violations
  • International Criminal Court
  • Mass Extermination
  • Racial/Ethnic Stereotyping
  • War Crimes


Genocide AND

  • American Indians
  • Armenian
  • Bosnia
  • Cambodian
  • Darfur
  • Indigenous Genocide
  • Jews
  • Kososvo
  • Kurdish
  • Nanking
  • Ottoman government
  • Rwanda
  • Serbian
  • Sudanese
  • Somalia
  • Turkey
  • Ukranian
 

Darfur Documentary

Refugees International
www.RefugeesInternational.org
March 9, 2006

 

Burma

Part 1:U Gawsita, Saffron Revolution 2007
U.S. Campaign for Burma
 

Germany and the Secret Genocide

Armenian Film Foundation
August 9, 2006

Google It




 

Definition

"...any of a number of acts committed with the intent to destroy, in whole or in part, a national, ethnic, racial or religious group: killing members of the group; causing serious bodily or mental harm to members of the group; deliberately inflicting on the group conditions of life calculated to bring about its physical destruction in whole or in part; imposing measures intended to prevent births within the group, and forcibly transferring children of the group to another group." 
United Nations Convention on the Prevention and Punishment of the Crime of Genocide, New York, 9 December 1948
 

Narrowing the Topic

  • What can we do to help prevent genocide?
  • Is there any cure for hate?
  • How is genocide different from mass murder? Or terrorism?
  • Can the United States take an active role in preventing genocide?
  • What are the different reasons sited for leading to genocide? (ie. Poverty, Regilious differences)
  • Who decides if it is genocide or civil unrest?
  • Why do leaders scapegoat particular groups?
 

E-Books

Cover Art
Genocide : A Comprehensive Introduction - Jones, Adam
Call Number: [electronic resource] 2011
ISBN: 9780415486187

Cover Art
Mass Atrocity Crimes : Preventing Future Outrages - Robert I. Rotberg, editor
Call Number: [electronic resource] 2010
ISBN: 9780815704713

Cover Art
War Crimes, Genocide, and the Law : A Guide to the Issues - Krammer, Arnold
Call Number: [electronic resource] 2010
ISBN: 9780313359378


 
 

Reference Books

Cover Art
Dictionary of Genocide - Samuel Totten, editor
Call Number: REF HV6322.7 .T68 2008
ISBN: 0313329672

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of War Crimes & Genocide - Horvitz, Leslie Alan
Call Number: REF HV 6322.7.H67 2006
ISBN: 0816060010

 
 

Finding Books

Books
Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.


eBooks
eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.

Note: You will have to login with your BC ID# and Your default PIN is a 4 digit code based on your birth date: MMDD. (For example, if you were born on July 04, your PIN is 0704.) Updated on 01/25/12, DT.

Suggested Databases

  • Academic OneFile  
      
    Academic OneFile provides peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. It includes coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and, other subjects.
  • History Reference Center
    History Reference Center offers full-text from more than 1,000 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full-text for 60 history magazines, 58,000 historical documents, 43,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 12,000

Contact Information

Profile Image
Judi Tidwell
Contact Info
17-114
954-201-6489
Send Email
 

Login Required

[BC Library Card]

The library databases can be accessed from outside the library/off-campus using your BC ID#. Your pin# is the last four digits of your social security number. If you are having difficulty accessing from off-campus, please contact the U/C library at 954.201.6653 or 954.201.6223.

Cite Your Sources

Eventually, all students have to learn to properly cite their sources for their research. Some classes require MLA style, while others use APA. This page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)

  • MLA Update 2009
    In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
    These changes go into effect in April 2009.
  • Sample of MLA Work Cited Page
    From Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
  • Citation Builder - NCSU
    Citation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip