This is the "Pathfinder" page of the "Gay (or Lesbian) Marriage / Same Sex Marriage" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Gay (or Lesbian) Marriage / Same Sex Marriage   Tags: civil_rights, gay, gay_marriage, gay_rights, glbt, lesbian, marriage, pathfinders, same_sex_marriage  

Last Updated: Nov 30, 2011 URL: http://libguides.broward.edu/Gay_Marriage Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis
Pathfinder Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Subject Headings

Same-sex marriage

Gay couples

Gays -- Family relationships

Gay couples

 

The Child's Perspective

 

Finding Books

Books
Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.


eBooks
eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.

Note: You will have to login with your BC ID# and Your default PIN is a 4 digit code based on your birth date: MMDD. (For example, if you were born on July 04, your PIN is 0704.) Updated on 01/25/12, DT.

Google It




 

Definition

“Legal relationship between two people of the same sex that enjoys the same legal status as a marriage between two people of the opposite sex." (Encyclopedia of Social Issues)

 

Narrow the topic

· What are the reasons for and against gay marriage?

· Is the Defense of Marriage Act discriminatory?

· How have domestic partnerships worked in New York City, Ann Arbor, New Orleans, San Francisco, etc.?

· What has been the effect of legalizing same sex partnerships in Denmark, Belgium, Canada, South Africa, Spain, the Netherlands or other countries?

·  Is marriage a civil right and if so, is it Constitutional to vote on civil rights?

· Is there evidence to support that children suffer psychological effects from having a gay parents?

· What changes need to be made for same-sex divorce?

· Compare domestic partnerships with marriage.


 

Reference Books

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of American Civil Liberties - Paul Finkelman, editor
Call Number: REF KF4747.5 .E53 2006
ISBN: 0415943426
"Same-Sex Unions"


Cover Art
Encyclopedia of the United States Constitution - Schultz, David A.
Call Number: REF KF4548.5 .S38 2009
ISBN: 0816067635
"Same Sex Marriage"

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Religion and the Law in America - Anglim, Christopher
Call Number: REF KF4865.A68 A54 2009
ISBN: 1592372988
"Defense of Marriage Act;" "Same Sex Marriage"

 

Suggested Databases

  • CQ Researcher Plus Archive  
      
    CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, and graphs.
  • Issues and Controversies  
      
    Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
  • Opposing Viewpoints  
      
    Opposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more social issues.
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
  • America's Newspapers  
      
    America's Newspapers from NewsBank provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers - all in one easy-to-search database.
  • Subject Specific Databases

Contact Information

Profile Image
Judi Tidwell
Contact Info
17-114
954-201-6489
Send Email
 

Login Required

[BC Library Card]

To log in to the library databases, e-books, and My Account, use your BC student ID number as your Borrower ID. Your PIN is now your birthday in MMDD format (for example, if your birthday is July 4th, your PIN is 0704). If you are having difficulty accessing from off-campus, please contact the U/C library at 954.201.6653 or 954.201.6223.

Cite Your Sources

Eventually, all students have to learn to properly cite their sources for their research. Some classes require MLA style, while others use APA. This page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)

  • MLA Update 2009
    In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
    These changes go into effect in April 2009.
  • Sample of MLA Work Cited Page
    From Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
  • Citation Builder - NCSU
    Citation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip