This is the "Pathfinder" page of the "Genetically Modified Food" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Genetically Modified Food   Tags: biotechnology, gmo, pathfinder  

Biotechnology of modern farming
Last Updated: May 26, 2011 URL: http://libguides.broward.edu/GMO Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis
Pathfinder Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Keywords

  • Geneticallly modified foods
  • Food--Biotechnology
  • Crops--Genetic engineering
  • Plant genetic engineering
  • Transgenic plants
  • Bioengineering
  • Genetically Modified (GM) crops
  • GMO (Genetically Modified Organism)
  • Agricultural modification/ engineering
  • Genetically engineered food
 

Video

CBS report on labeling of Genetically Modified Organisms

May 11, 2008

 

Finding Books

Books
Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.


eBooks
eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.

Note: You will have to login with your BC ID# and Your default PIN is a 4 digit code based on your birth date: MMDD. (For example, if you were born on July 04, your PIN is 0704.) Updated on 01/25/12, DT.

Google It

Add "site:.gov" to your search terms in order to find government publications




 

Definition

"Genetically engineered foods are produced from crops whose genetic makeup has been altered through a process called recombinant DNA, or gene splicing, to give the plant a desirable trait." (FDA Consumer Magazine)

 

Narrow the topic

  • Why is there more press about genetically modified food in European countries than U.S.A.?
  • What are the possible dangers of genetically modified food? What are the possible benefits?
  • What precautions should the government take to protect our food?
  • Focus on the possibilities of genetically modifying a certain food, such as potatos or soy beans. Who would benefit from genetically modified food, the consumer or the producer?
  • What is the evidence the illnesses and deaths from L-Tryptophan in 1989 was linked to genetic modification?
  • Why did the European Commission require labeling for food that has been genetically modified? Why don't we have that in the U.S.?
  • How safe is genetically modified food?
  • Discuss genetically modified food and allergies, nutrition, antibiotic reserves, pesticides.
  • Should the EPA, USDA, or FDA be given the task of conducting studies of long term effects of biotechnology?
  • What are the ramifications of giving hormones to cattle or other animals?
  • Why is there an interest in sterilized crops? What are the implications?
  •  

    Reference Books

    Cover Art
    Encyclopedia of Animal Rights and Animal Welfare - Marc Bekoff, editor
    Call Number: REF HV4708.E53 2010
    ISBN: 0313352550

    Cover Art
    Encyclopedia of Food and Culture - Solomon H. Katz, editor in chief
    Call Number: REF GT2850 .E53 2003
    ISBN: 0684805685

    Cover Art
    Genetic Engineering : a Reference Handbook - LeVine, Harry III
    Call Number: REF TP248.6 .L4 2006
    ISBN: 1851098607

     

    Suggested Databases

    • CQ Researcher Plus Archive  
        
      CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, and graphs.
    • Issues and Controversies  
        
      Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
    • Opposing Viewpoints  
        
      Opposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more social issues.
    • Academic Search Complete  
        
      Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
    • America's Newspapers  
        
      America's Newspapers from NewsBank provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers - all in one easy-to-search database.
    • Subject Specific Databases

    Contact Information

    Profile Image
    Judi Tidwell
    Contact Info
    17-114
    954-201-6489
    Send Email
     

    Video

    GMO Trilogy "Unnatural Selection" part 1

    April 22, 2006

     

    Login Required

    [BC Library Card]

    To log in to the library databases, e-books, and My Account, use your BC student ID number as your Borrower ID. Your PIN is now your birthday in MMDD format (for example, if your birthday is July 4th, your PIN is 0704). If you are having difficulty accessing from off-campus, please contact the U/C library at 954.201.6653 or 954.201.6223.

    Cite Your Sources

    Eventually, all students have to learn to properly cite their sources for their research. Some classes require MLA style, while others use APA. This page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)

    • MLA Update 2009
      In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
      These changes go into effect in April 2009.
    • Sample of MLA Work Cited Page
      From Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
    • Citation Builder - NCSU
      Citation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip