This is the "Pathfinder" page of the "Fetal Alcohol Syndrome" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Fetal Alcohol Syndrome  

Last Updated: Jul 30, 2011 URL: http://libguides.broward.edu/Fetal_Alcohol_Syndrome Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis
Pathfinder Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Keywords

  • Fetal Alcohol Syndrome
  • Alcoholism in Pregnancy
 

Finding Books

Books
Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.


eBooks
eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.

Note: You will have to login with your BC ID# and Your default PIN is a 4 digit code based on your birth date: MMDD. (For example, if you were born on July 04, your PIN is 0704.) Updated on 01/25/12, DT.

Google It




 

Definition

“Various forms of damage to a fetus as a result of heavy maternal alcohol consumption.  Potential problems include retarded growth, mental retardation, and sometimes craniofacial and limb abnormalities.” (The Social Work Dictionary)

 

Narrow the topic

  • What is the relationship between fetal alcohol syndrome and attention deficit hyperactivity disorder?
  • Should mothers who drink be prosecuted for child abuse?
  • Should legislation be enacted to prevent serving alcohol to pregnant women?
  • What measures can be taken to educate the public about the dangers of drinking during pregnancy?
  • How should schools confront the problem of students who have fetal alcohol syndrome?
 

Reference Books

Alcohol, Tobacco, and Illicit Drugs: Information Plus
Call Number: HV 4999.2 .A433 2007

Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol & Addictive Behavior
Call Number: REF HV 5804 .E53 2001

Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health
Call Number: REF RC 437 .G36 2008

Magill’s Medical Guide
Call Number: REF RC 41 .M34 2008

Encyclopedia of motherhood
Call Number: REF HQ759 .E52 2010

Child: an encyclopedic companion
Call Number: REF HQ767.84 .C55 2009

Encyclopedia of substance abuse prevention, treatment, & recovery
Call Number: REF RC563.4 .E53 2009

 

Suggested Databases

  • CQ Researcher Plus Archive  
      
    CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, and graphs.
  • Issues and Controversies  
      
    Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
  • Opposing Viewpoints  
      
    Opposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more social issues.
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
  • America's Newspapers  
      
    America's Newspapers from NewsBank provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers - all in one easy-to-search database.
  • Subject Specific Databases
 

Login Required

[BC Library Card]

To log in to the library databases, e-books, and My Account, use your BC student ID number as your Borrower ID. Your PIN is now your birthday in MMDD format (for example, if your birthday is July 4th, your PIN is 0704). If you are having difficulty accessing from off-campus, please contact the U/C library at 954.201.6653 or 954.201.6223.

Cite Your Sources

Eventually, all students have to learn to properly cite their sources for their research. Some classes require MLA style, while others use APA. This page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)

  • MLA Update 2009
    In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
    These changes go into effect in April 2009.
  • Sample of MLA Work Cited Page
    From Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
  • Citation Builder - NCSU
    Citation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip