This is the "Pathfinder" page of the "Everglades" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Everglades   Tags: everglades, pathfinder  

Save Our Everglades
Last Updated: Jul 30, 2011 URL: http://libguides.broward.edu/Everglades Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis
Pathfinder Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Save Our Everglades (2:01 min.)

 

Keywords

  • Everglades
  • Everglades National Park
  • Sawgrass
 

Finding Books

Books
Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.


eBooks
eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.

Note: You will have to login with your BC ID# and Your default PIN is a 4 digit code based on your birth date: MMDD. (For example, if you were born on July 04, your PIN is 0704.) Updated on 01/25/12, DT.

Suggested Websites

  • Everglades Digital Library
    The Everglades Digital Library (EDL) is a service of the Digital Collections Center at Florida International University Libraries in Miami, Florida. The EDL was established in 1996 to support research, and education.
  • The Comprehensive Everglades Restoration Plan
    The Comprehensive Everglades Restoration Plan (CERP) provides a framework and guide to restore, protect and preserve the water resources of central and southern Florida, including the Everglades.
  • Everglades Coalition
    The Everglades Coalition is an alliance of more than fifty local, state and national conservation and environmental organizations dedicated to full restoration of the greater Everglades ecosystem, from the Kissimmee Chain of Lakes into Lake Okeechobee and to the estuaries, through the River of Grass, out to Florida Bay and the Keys.

Google It




 

Definition

"The Everglades, in Southern Florida, is a low region of periodically flooded sawgrass prairies and swamps in a shallow basin that slopes gently in a broad arc from Lake Okeechobee to the Gulf of Mexico." (Encyclopedia of Americana)

 

Narrow the topic

  • How important is the Everglades to the ecosystem?
  • What impact has agriculture had on the Everglades, especially "Big Sugar"?
  • Why are the Everglades important to humans?
  • How successful are restoration efforts and who should pay for them?
  • What has been the effect of hurricanes on the Everglades?
  • What risks might global warming have?
 

Reference Books

Everglades Handbook: Understanding the Ecosystem
Call Number: REF QH 105 .F6 L63 2005

Conservation & Environmentalism: an Encyclopedia
Call Number: REF GE 10 .C68

Discover a Watershed: the Everglades
Call Number: REF QH 541.5 .V3 D57

Environmental Encyclopedia - 3rd
Call Number: REF GE 10 .E58 2003 v.1

Everglades The Ecosystem and Its Restoration
Call Number: REF QH 105 .F6 E94 1997

 

Suggested Databases

  • CQ Researcher Plus Archive  
      
    CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, and graphs.
  • Issues and Controversies  
      
    Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
  • Opposing Viewpoints  
      
    Opposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more social issues.
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
  • America's Newspapers  
      
    America's Newspapers from NewsBank provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers - all in one easy-to-search database.
  • Subject Specific Databases
 

Login Required

[BC Library Card]

To log in to the library databases, e-books, and My Account, use your BC student ID number as your Borrower ID. Your PIN is now your birthday in MMDD format (for example, if your birthday is July 4th, your PIN is 0704). If you are having difficulty accessing from off-campus, please contact the U/C library at 954.201.6653 or 954.201.6223.

Cite Your Sources

Eventually, all students have to learn to properly cite their sources for their research. Some classes require MLA style, while others use APA. This page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)

  • MLA Update 2009
    In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
    These changes go into effect in April 2009.
  • Sample of MLA Work Cited Page
    From Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
  • Citation Builder - NCSU
    Citation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip