This is the "Pathfinder" page of the "Endangered Species" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Endangered Species   Tags: endangered_species, pathfinder  

Why are we trying to save endangered species?
Last Updated: Dec 1, 2010 URL: http://libguides.broward.edu/Endangered_Species Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis
Pathfinder Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Question

How many known species are at risk of extinction in the state of Florida?
Yes, Manatee is one of them. Click the photo for the complete listing.

Florida Manatee
U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service

 

Keywords

  • Endangered Species Act
  • Endangered Plants
  • Endangered Species in Florida
  • Rare Animals
  • Nature Conservation
  • Wildlife Conservation
 

Finding Books

Books
Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.


eBooks
eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.

Note: You will have to login with your BC ID# and Your default PIN is a 4 digit code based on your birth date: MMDD. (For example, if you were born on July 04, your PIN is 0704.) Updated on 01/25/12, DT.

Google It




 

Definition

Endangered species are living things threatened with extinction - that is, the dying off of all individuals of their kind.” (World Book Encyclopedia)

 

Narrow the topic

  • Has the Endangered Species Act saved animals or plants from extinction?

  • How could the Endangered Species Act be more effectively enforced?

  • What are some of the factors that contribute to species endangerment?

  • How can endangered species be protected?

  • What are some of the recovery plans for endangered species?

  • Has global warming had an effect on endangered species?

  • How can ecotourism be used to save endangered species?

 

Reference Books

Cover Art
Endangered Species: Opposing Viewpoints
Call Number: REF QH 75 .E665 2008
Reference Desk (also available through the Opposing Viewpoints Database)

Cover Art
Endangered Species: Contemporary Issues Companion
Call Number: REF QH 75 .E652
Reference Desk (also available through the Opposing Viewpoints Database)

Cover Art
Endangered species : protecting biodiversity: information plus
Call Number: Ref Desk QH 75 .A1 E535
Reference Desk (also available through the Opposing Viewpoints Database)

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of animal rights and animal welfare
Call Number: REF HV4708 .E53 2010


Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Environment and Society
Call Number: REF HM 856 .E53 2007

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of global warming
Call Number: REF QC981.8.G56 E46 2010

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of global resources
Call Number: REF HC85 .E49 2010

 

Suggested Databases

  • CQ Researcher Plus Archive  
      
    CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, and graphs.
  • Issues and Controversies  
      
    Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
  • Opposing Viewpoints  
      
    Opposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more social issues.
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
  • America's Newspapers  
      
    America's Newspapers from NewsBank provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers - all in one easy-to-search database.
  • Subject Specific Databases

Contact Us:

Profile Image
Reference Department
Contact Info
3501 SW Davie Road, Bldg.17
Davie, FL 33314
954.201.6653 or 6223
Send Email
 

Login Required

[BC Library Card]

To log in to the library databases, e-books, and My Account, use your BC student ID number as your Borrower ID. Your PIN is now your birthday in MMDD format (for example, if your birthday is July 4th, your PIN is 0704). If you are having difficulty accessing from off-campus, please contact the U/C library at 954.201.6653 or 954.201.6223.

Cite Your Sources

Eventually, all students have to learn to properly cite their sources for their research. Some classes require MLA style, while others use APA. This page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)

  • MLA Update 2009
    In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
    These changes go into effect in April 2009.
  • Sample of MLA Work Cited Page
    From Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
  • Citation Builder - NCSU
    Citation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip