This is the "Pathfinder" page of the "Electric Cars" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Electric Cars   Tags: cars, electric, pathfinder  

Last Updated: Jul 30, 2011 URL: http://libguides.broward.edu/Electric_Cars Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis
Pathfinder Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

How Electric Cars Work

How Electric Cars Work
Play Video

 

Keywords

  • Automobiles

  • Electric cars

  • Hybrid

  • Air pollution

  • Alternative energy

 

Finding Books

Books
Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.


eBooks
eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.

Note: You will have to login with your BC ID# and Your default PIN is a 4 digit code based on your birth date: MMDD. (For example, if you were born on July 04, your PIN is 0704.) Updated on 01/25/12, DT.

Feature Website

Google It




 

Definition

"A vehicle driven by an electric motor with energy obtained, usually form a storage cell or fuel cell." (Dictionary of Energy.)

 

Narrow the topic

  •  What impact have electric vehicles had in United States?
  • Should zero-emissions vehicles conform to the same safety standards as cars?
  • Should electric vehicles be mandated for areas of high pollution?
  • Should tax credits and other incentives be given to owners of electric vehicles?
  • Are plug-in electric cars viable?
  • What infrastructures such as recharging stations need to be in place before electric cars become practical?
  • Discuss the Chevrolet Volt? Should it be subsidized by the government? Is it a game-changer for General Motors?
  • Compare fuel cells vehicles with battery-powered vehicles?
  • Does mining rare-earth elements needed to manufacture electric vehicles harm the environment?
  • Contrast new battery technology such as lithium-sulfide and sodium-sulfur.
 

Reference Books

Cars in America: Opposing Viewpoints
Call Number: TL 23 .C3655 2006

Energy Supplies Sustainability and Costs - Information Plus
Call Number: HD 9502 .E54 2007

The Environment a Revolution in Attitudes - Information Plus
Call Number: QH 541 .E78 2008

Magill’s Science Annual 2001
Call Number: REF Q 179.9 .M34 2001

Encyclopedia of Technology and Applied Sciences
Call Number: REF T 48 .E52 2000

U.S. Laws, Acts, and Treaties
Call Number: REF KF 385 .A4 U152 2003 “Alternative Motor Fuels Act (1988)”

 

Suggested Databases

  • CQ Researcher Plus Archive  
      
    CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, and graphs.
  • Issues and Controversies  
      
    Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
  • Opposing Viewpoints  
      
    Opposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more social issues.
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
  • America's Newspapers  
      
    America's Newspapers from NewsBank provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers - all in one easy-to-search database.
  • Subject Specific Databases
 

Login Required

[BC Library Card]

To log in to the library databases, e-books, and My Account, use your BC student ID number as your Borrower ID. Your PIN is now your birthday in MMDD format (for example, if your birthday is July 4th, your PIN is 0704). If you are having difficulty accessing from off-campus, please contact the U/C library at 954.201.6653 or 954.201.6223.

Cite Your Sources

Eventually, all students have to learn to properly cite their sources for their research. Some classes require MLA style, while others use APA. This page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)

  • MLA Update 2009
    In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
    These changes go into effect in April 2009.
  • Sample of MLA Work Cited Page
    From Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
  • Citation Builder - NCSU
    Citation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip