This is the "Pathfinder" page of the "Education Reform" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Education Reform   Tags: education, pathfinder, reform  

Last Updated: Jul 30, 2011 URL: http://libguides.broward.edu/Education_Reform Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis
Pathfinder Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Definition

"Headlines raise what seem to be unceasing alarms about plummeting test scores, illiterate high school graduates and wasted tax dollars…but a growing number of scholars and public school advocates have questioned whether the "crisis" really exists." CQ Researcher, July 26, 1996

 

Keywords

  • No Child Left Behind Act

  • Charter Schools

  • School Vouchers

  • School Choice

  • Educational Surveys

  • Private Schools--United States

  • Public Schools--United States

  • Educational change;

  • School management and organization

 

Finding Books

Books
Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.


eBooks
eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.

Note: You will have to login with your BC ID# and Your default PIN is a 4 digit code based on your birth date: MMDD. (For example, if you were born on July 04, your PIN is 0704.) Updated on 01/25/12, DT.

Google It




 

Narrow the topic

  • Has no child left behind been act good for education?
  • Has the quality of public education really declined?
  • Does public education need extensive reform?
  • Would a longer school year improve public education?
  • Is the American family no longer a factor in the education of its own children?
  • Does the teaching profession need to be improved? How can this be done?
  • Does data exist which proves that private schools outperform public schools?
  • Does the fact that private schools have rights of refusal not available to public schools play a part in their achievements?
  • What are the advantages/disadvantages of home schooling?
  • Has privatization of schools been successful?
  • Should students be paid for good grades?
  • Should the school day or school year be lengthened?
  • Why has the school voucher plan been rejected by voters?
  • Do teachers' unions block or encourage meaninful education reform?
  • Can innovative programs like Geoffrey Canada's Harlem Children's Zone or Steve Perry's Capital Preparatory Magnet School in Hartford CT be replicated in other cities?
  • Would national educational standards of content and performance improve education?
  • Can video games teach children?
  • What innovations like alternative certification that Florida is using to attract teachers to meet its class-size amendment?
  • Does early graduation/dual enrollment increase student success?
 

Reference Books

Education: Opposing Viewpoints
Call Number: LA 217.2 .E37 2005

Has No Child Left Behind Been Good for Education?
Call Number: LB 2806.22 .H37 2008

Education: meeting America's needs: Information Plus
Call Number: REF LA 201 .E38

Culture wars: an encyclopedia of issues, viewpoints, and voices
Call Number: REF HN90.M6 U85 2010

Encyclopedia of educatonal reform and dissent
Call Number: REF LB2805 .E528 2010

 

Suggested Databases

  • CQ Researcher Plus Archive  
      
    CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, and graphs.
  • Issues and Controversies  
      
    Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
  • Opposing Viewpoints  
      
    Opposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more social issues.
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
  • America's Newspapers  
      
    America's Newspapers from NewsBank provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers - all in one easy-to-search database.
  • Subject Specific Databases
 

Login Required

[BC Library Card]

To log in to the library databases, e-books, and My Account, use your BC student ID number as your Borrower ID. Your PIN is now your birthday in MMDD format (for example, if your birthday is July 4th, your PIN is 0704). If you are having difficulty accessing from off-campus, please contact the U/C library at 954.201.6653 or 954.201.6223.

Cite Your Sources

Eventually, all students have to learn to properly cite their sources for their research. Some classes require MLA style, while others use APA. This page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)

  • MLA Update 2009
    In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
    These changes go into effect in April 2009.
  • Sample of MLA Work Cited Page
    From Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
  • Citation Builder - NCSU
    Citation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip