This is the "Pathfinder" page of the "Binge Drinking" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Binge Drinking   Tags: alcoholism, binge_drinking, juvenile_drinking, pathfinder  

Guide to Library Resources
Last Updated: Apr 22, 2011 URL: http://libguides.broward.edu/Binge_Drinking Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Pathfinder Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Definition

Binge drinking is defined as imbibing five or more drinks in succession for men and four or more drinks in succession for women. (The Encyclopedia of Addictions and Addictive Behavior, 2006)

 

Keywords

  • Alcoholism
  • Hazing—United States
  • College Students—Alcohol Use
  • College Students—United States
  • Secret societies
  • Youth—Alcohol Use
 

Finding Books

Books
Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.


eBooks
eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.

Note: You will have to login with your BC ID# and Your default PIN is a 4 digit code based on your birth date: MMDD. (For example, if you were born on July 04, your PIN is 0704.) Updated on 01/25/12, DT.

Google It




 

Narrow the topic

 

  • What is a safe level of drinking?
  • How much is too much alcohol?
  • How serious is binge drinking among college students?
  • Can one night of binge drinking cause physical problems?
  • Is binge drinking on the rise? 
  • What is being done to stop binge drinking on college campuses?
  • Can binge drinking be an indication of a a drinking problem?
  • What are some of the dangers that come from binge drinking?
  • Has binge drinking reached middle and high schools?
  • Should the alcohol industry's marketing toward youth be limited?
  • Will Florida's hazing law help prevent binge drinking?
 

Reference Books

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of substance abuse, prevention, treatment, and recovery
Call Number: REF RC563.4 .E53 2009

Cover Art
Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Illness
Call Number: REF RC 437 .G36 2008

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Human Development
Call Number: REF HM626 .E53 2006

Drugs, Alcohol, and Tobacco - Learning About Addictive Behaviors
Call Number: REF HV5804 .D78 2003

West's Encyclopedia of American Law - "Alcohol: Drinking on Campus"
Call Number: REF KF154 .W47

 
 

Finding Articles

Find Magazine/Journal Articles

Search full-text magazine/journal articles. Login required!

Suggested Databases

  • CQ Researcher Plus Archive  
      
    CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, and graphs.
  • Issues and Controversies  
      
    Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
  • Opposing Viewpoints  
      
    Opposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more social issues.
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
  • America's Newspapers  
      
    America's Newspapers from NewsBank provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers - all in one easy-to-search database.
  • Subject Specific Databases
 

Login Required

[BC Library Card]

To log in to the library databases, e-books, and My Account, use your BC student ID number as your Borrower ID. Your PIN is now your birthday in MMDD format (for example, if your birthday is July 4th, your PIN is 0704). If you are having difficulty accessing from off-campus, please contact the U/C library at 954.201.6653 or 954.201.6223.

Cite Your Sources

Eventually, all students have to learn to properly cite their sources for their research. Some classes require MLA style, while others use APA. This page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)

  • MLA Update 2009
    In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
    These changes go into effect in April 2009.
  • Sample of MLA Work Cited Page
    From Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
  • Citation Builder - NCSU
    Citation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip