This is the "Pathfinder" page of the "Beach Erosion" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Beach Erosion   Tags: beaches, coastal erosion, erosion, pathfinder  

Guide to library resources.
Last Updated: Nov 28, 2011 URL: http://libguides.broward.edu/Beach_Erosion Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis
Pathfinder Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Definition

Beach erosion is defined as the “carrying away of beach materials by wave action, tidal currents, littoral currents or wind.” (Ocean and Marine Dictionary, 1979 p.29)

 

Keywords

  • Beach erosion
  • Coastal erosion
  • Beaches
  • Coast changes
  • Shore protection
  • Coastal engineering
  • Beach replenishment
  • Coasts
  • Coastlines
 

Finding Books

Books
Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.


eBooks
eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.

Note: You will have to login with your BC ID# and Your default PIN is a 4 digit code based on your birth date: MMDD. (For example, if you were born on July 04, your PIN is 0704.) Updated on 01/25/12, DT.

Google It




 

Narrow the topic

  • Should tax dollars be used to replenish beaches after hurricanes or severe storms?
  • Should tax dollars be used to replenish beaches for tourism?
  • What effect do hurricanes have on beaches?
  • Are jetties, bulkheads and seawalls a valid protection against erosion?
  • Does the greenhouse effect have any effect on beaches?
  • Is beach renourishment harmful to the ecology of the ocean floor and offshore coral reefs?
  • Should people be allowed to rebuild damaged oceanfront buildings after storms?
  • What is coastal zone management?
  • What can be done to promote responsible coastal building?
  • Should property owners be compensated for losing private access beach access due to beach restoration?
  • How successful are setback laws?
 

Reference Books

Encyclopedia of American environmental history
Call Number: ebook (available online)
Publication Date: 2010

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of global resources
Call Number: REF HC85 .E49 2010
"Coastal..."

Encyclopedia of Global Change
Call Number: REF GE149 .E47
available online and in print

Cover Art
Environmental Encyclopedia
Call Number: REF GE10 .E58

Encyclopedia of Environment and Society
Call Number: REF HM856 .E53

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of global warming
Call Number: REF QC981.8.G56 E46 2010
"Coastal impacts of global climate change," "Coastline changes"

Encyclopedia of Coastal Science
Call Number: REF TC203.7 .E53



 
 

Finding Articles

Find Magazine/Journal Articles

Search full-text magazine/journal articles. Login required!

Suggested Databases

  • CQ Researcher Plus Archive  
      
    CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, and graphs.
  • Issues and Controversies  
      
    Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
  • Opposing Viewpoints  
      
    Opposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more social issues.
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
  • America's Newspapers  
      
    America's Newspapers from NewsBank provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers - all in one easy-to-search database.
  • Subject Specific Databases
 

Login Required

[BC Library Card]

To log in to the library databases, e-books, and My Account, use your BC student ID number as your Borrower ID. Your PIN is now your birthday in MMDD format (for example, if your birthday is July 4th, your PIN is 0704). If you are having difficulty accessing from off-campus, please contact the U/C library at 954.201.6653 or 954.201.6223.

Cite Your Sources

Eventually, all students have to learn to properly cite their sources for their research. Some classes require MLA style, while others use APA. This page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)

  • MLA Update 2009
    In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
    These changes go into effect in April 2009.
  • Sample of MLA Work Cited Page
    From Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
  • Citation Builder - NCSU
    Citation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip