Skip to main content

BSC4846 Scientific Communication- Prof. Fletcher

Reference Management Tools

      An overview of RefWorks features and capabilities 

RefWorks FAQ:

What happens when I graduate or if I leave my University?

  • You can convert your University account to an individual subscription or if you have access to a new Organizational RefWorks subscription, you can move your account. To do this, select Tools, Backup/Restore and make a backup of your database.  You will be prompted to save a .zip or. rwb file to your computer.  In your new account, select Tools, Backup/Restore and use the restore option to add the .zip or. rwb file to your new account.  You can also export your reference data in several formats using one of RefWorks Export options

If the University/Institution does not have a RefWorks subscription, can I move my RefWorks database into another database program?

RefWorks offers several export options that you can use with other programs. These options (available in Tools/Export References) are:

• Bibliographic Software (EndNote, ProCite, Reference Manager).  Saves the database in a tagged format that can import into another bibliographic management program. It is the format sometimes called the RIS Format or Reference Manager Format and can be imported into Reference Manager, ProCite, EndNote, or any other program that supports the RIS Format

• BibTeX – RefWorks ID.  Saves the database in the file format for use with the LaTeX document preparation system.

• Citation List.   Creates a list to use when writing your paper offline. The format includes the RefID, Authors Primary, Title Primary, and Publication Year only.  This format is probably not usable by another bibliography manager.

• RefWorks Tagged Format. Saves the database in a format similar to the bibliographic management software format. This is a tagged format. The data layout, however, is patterned after the RefWorks database as opposed to tags that match with other bibliographic programs. Use this format for backup purposes and for sharing data with other RefWorks users.

• Tab Delimited.  Saves all your data in an organized manner with each field separated by a tab. It may then be loaded into other programs that are designed to read this type of format.

        • XML. Use this format to create your export file in an XML format.

     An overview of Mendeley features and capabilities 

      An overview of Zotero's features and capabilities

Loading ...

Suggested Resources

Books are available in the U/C Library. This search box searches for books and ebooks.

Note: You may need to log in. Your Borrower ID is your BC ID#. Your default PIN is a 4 digit code based on your birth date: MMDD. (For example, if you were born on July 04, your PIN is 0704.)

Loading ...