This is the "Pathfinder" page of the "Aviation Safety" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Aviation Safety  

Last Updated: Dec 14, 2009 URL: http://libguides.broward.edu/Aviation_Safety Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis
Pathfinder Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Finding Books

Books
Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.


eBooks
eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.

Note: You will have to login with your BC ID# and Your default PIN is a 4 digit code based on your birth date: MMDD. (For example, if you were born on July 04, your PIN is 0704.) Updated on 01/25/12, DT.

Google It




 

Definition

The state of freedom from unacceptable risk of injury to persons or damage to aircraft and property.” (International Civil Aviation Organization, 2001)

 

Narrow the topic

  • How can our outdated air-traffic system be improved?
  • Should there be a mandatory retirement age for pilots?
  • How can the National Transportation Safety Board be more effective?
  • Should there be regulations to ensure pilots get enough sleep?
  • Discuss how birds, volcanic ash, turbulence, lighting strikes, or other factors might affect the safety of airplanes.
  • Will the latest aircraft/air traffic system technologies enhance aviation safety?
  • Have federal budget cutbacks affected the FAA Inspection Program?
  • Should Congress reform and restructure the FAA?
  • What can be done to improve the safety of general aviation (private planes)?
  • What can be done to improve the safety of cargo or freight aircraft?
  • What can be done to improve the safety of charter airlines?
  • How have fears of terrorism contributed to air safety?

 

 

Available at the Reference Desk

Opposing Viewpoints Transportation; War on Terrorism; Terrorism (also in the Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center Database)

CQ Researcher Plus Archive "Future of the Airlines" 3/7/2008

Issues and Controversies "Update: Aviation Safety " 7/11/08

At Issue: Homeland SecurityCan the War on Terrorism Be Won? (also in the Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center Database)

 

Reference Books

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of flight
Call Number: REF TL509 .E56 2002
"Safety Issues" (also available as an e-book)


Cover Art
Man-made catastrophes
Call Number: REF D24 .D38

Cover Art
U.S. Laws, Acts, and Treaties
Call Number: REF KF 385 .A4 U152

 

Suggested Databases

  • CQ Researcher Plus Archive  
      
    CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, and graphs.
  • Issues and Controversies  
      
    Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
  • Opposing Viewpoints  
      
    Opposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more social issues.
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
  • America's Newspapers  
      
    America's Newspapers from NewsBank provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers - all in one easy-to-search database.
  • Subject Specific Databases

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Neil Linger
 

Login Required

[BC Library Card]

To log in to the library databases, e-books, and My Account, use your BC student ID number as your Borrower ID. Your PIN is now your birthday in MMDD format (for example, if your birthday is July 4th, your PIN is 0704). If you are having difficulty accessing from off-campus, please contact the U/C library at 954.201.6653 or 954.201.6223.

Cite Your Sources

Eventually, all students have to learn to properly cite their sources for their research. Some classes require MLA style, while others use APA. This page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)

  • MLA Update 2009
    In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
    These changes go into effect in April 2009.
  • Sample of MLA Work Cited Page
    From Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
  • Citation Builder - NCSU
    Citation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip