This is the "Pathfinder" page of the "AIDS / HIV in Africa" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

AIDS / HIV in Africa  

Last Updated: Oct 6, 2009 URL: http://libguides.broward.edu/Aids_in_Africa Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis
Pathfinder Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Subject Headings

 

Finding Books

Books
Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.


eBooks
eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.

Note: You will have to login with your BC ID# and Your default PIN is a 4 digit code based on your birth date: MMDD. (For example, if you were born on July 04, your PIN is 0704.) Updated on 01/25/12, DT.

Google It




 

Definition

"Acquired immune deficiency syndrome (AIDS) is a fatal disease that emerged by the late 1970s in Africa and the United States..."Ninety percent of the more than 40 million people who had contracted HIV/AIDS by 1998 lived in less developed countries; more than two-thirds of the total, some 35 million, were Africans. Nearly half of those infected were female." Africana, the Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience.

 

Narrow the topic

  • How have South African companies responded to the crisis?

  • How has the international community responded to the crisis?

  • What can be done to help children orphaned by AIDS?

  • How have African women been affected

  • Should limited resources be allocated to education or treatment?

  • How can the problem of the cost of drugs be resolved?

  • Compare the situation of another African country with South Africa or India.

  • What are the different challenges of sex education in Africa?

  • Has "Project Red" been successful?
 

Available at the Reference Desk

Opposing Viewpoints: Epidemics; Aids; Third World; Sexually Transmitted Diseases (also available in the Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center Database)

Issues and Controversies "Drug Patents and Developing Countries" 3/28/2003; "Worldwide Aids Epidemic" 6/24/2005; "Public Health Aid to Sub-Saharan Africa"

At Issue: Aids in Developing Countries; The Spread of Aids: Responding to the Aids Epidemic (also available in the Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center Database)

CQ Researcher Plus Archive "Aiding Africa" 8/29/2003; "Drug Company Ethics" 6/06/2003; "Ending Poverty" 9/09/2005; “Battling HIV/AIDS” 11/14/07

 

Reference Books

Cover Art
Yearbook of the United Nations
Call Number: REF JX 1977 .A57 Y4

Cover Art
New encyclopedia of Africa - Middleton, John
Call Number: REF DT2 .N48
"Disease: HIV/AIDS Medical Aspects"


 

Suggested Databases

  • CQ Researcher Plus Archive  
      
    CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, and graphs.
  • Issues and Controversies  
      
    Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
  • Opposing Viewpoints  
      
    Opposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more social issues.
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
  • America's Newspapers  
      
    America's Newspapers from NewsBank provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers - all in one easy-to-search database.
  • Subject Specific Databases
 

Statistics

Information Plus: AIDS/HIV (also available in the Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center Database)

United Nations Demographic Yearbook REF HA 17 .D45

CDC Global Aids Program http://www.cdc.gov/nchstp/od/gap/countries/default.htm

Unaids http://www.unaids.org/en/Publications/default.asp

 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Neil Linger
 

Login Required

[BC Library Card]

To log in to the library databases, e-books, and My Account, use your BC student ID number as your Borrower ID. Your PIN is now your birthday in MMDD format (for example, if your birthday is July 4th, your PIN is 0704). If you are having difficulty accessing from off-campus, please contact the U/C library at 954.201.6653 or 954.201.6223.

Cite Your Sources

Eventually, all students have to learn to properly cite their sources for their research. Some classes require MLA style, while others use APA. This page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)

  • MLA Update 2009
    In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
    These changes go into effect in April 2009.
  • Sample of MLA Work Cited Page
    From Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
  • Citation Builder - NCSU
    Citation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip