Subject Headings
Finding Books
Books
Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.
eBooks
eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.
Note: You will have to login with your BC ID# and Your default PIN is a 4 digit code based on your birth date: MMDD. (For example, if you were born on July 04, your PIN is 0704.) Updated on 01/25/12, DT.
Google It
Definition
“Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome (AIDS): Viral disease caused by the Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV). AIDS usually leads to death within eight to eleven years of exposure to HIV. Its spread requires contact between contaminated body fluids and the blood or mucous membranes of another person." (Encyclopedia of Social Issues)
Narrow the topic
-
How can the spread of AIDS be prevented?
-
Should there be mandatory testing for health care workers?
-
Has the government adequately funded AIDS research?
-
What are the latest treatments and how have they changed patients’ prognosis?
-
Should AIDS be treated as a chronic manageable disease rather than a fatal one?
-
Can AIDS education prevent the spreads of AIDS among teenagers?
-
Can needle-exchange programs prevent AIDS?
-
Should HIV test results be confidential or reported to the state?
- What can be done to combat resistant HIV strains?
- How far off is an AIDS/HIV vaccine?
Available at the Reference Desk
CQ Researcher Plus Archive “Battling HIV/AIDS” 11/14/07
Opposing Viewpoints: AIDS; Vaccines; Club Drugs (also available in the Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center Database)
At Issue: Responding to the Aids Epidemic (also available in the Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center Database)
Issues and Controversies "Worldwide Aids Epidemic" 6/24/05 p.249-256
Reference Books
Suggested Databases
- CQ Researcher Plus Archive CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, and graphs.
- Issues and Controversies Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
- Opposing Viewpoints Opposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more social issues.
- Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
- America's Newspapers America's Newspapers from NewsBank provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers - all in one easy-to-search database.
- Subject Specific Databases
Statistics
| Health United States (Ref Desk) | http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/hus.htm |
| Statistical Abstract of the United States | http://www.census.gov/compendia/statab/ |
| National Center for Health Statistics | http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/fastats/aids-hiv.htm |
| Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report: | http://www.cdc.gov/mmwr/summary.html |
| Information Plus: AIDS/HIV; Health and Wellness: (Ref Desk) | (also available in the Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center Database) |
Subject Guide |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Login Required
To log in to the library databases, e-books, and My Account, use your BC student ID number as your Borrower ID. Your PIN is now your birthday in MMDD format (for example, if your birthday is July 4th, your PIN is 0704). If you are having difficulty accessing from off-campus, please contact the U/C library at 954.201.6653 or 954.201.6223.
Cite Your Sources
Eventually, all students have to learn to properly cite their sources for their research. Some classes require MLA style, while others use APA. This page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)
- MLA Update 2009In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
These changes go into effect in April 2009. - Sample of MLA Work Cited PageFrom Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
- Citation Builder - NCSUCitation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.


![[BC Library Card]](http://ucl.broward.edu/gif/BCID.gif)
Loading...
