This is the "Pathfinder" page of the "Aged Drivers" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Aged Drivers  

One of the common consequences of growing older is a reduction in the skills necessary to operate a motor vehicle safely
Last Updated: Apr 14, 2011 URL: http://libguides.broward.edu/Aged_Drivers Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis
Pathfinder Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Finding Books

Books
Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.


eBooks
eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.

Note: You will have to login with your BC ID# and Your default PIN is a 4 digit code based on your birth date: MMDD. (For example, if you were born on July 04, your PIN is 0704.) Updated on 01/25/12, DT.

Google It




 

Definition

(Driving): "One of the common consequences of growing older is a reduction in the skills necessary

to operate a motor vehicle safely." (Aging. Salem Press, 2000)

 

Narrow the topic

  • How can the existing transportation network meet the needs of seniors less willing and able to drive?

  • What should be the criteria to require seniors to relinquish their driver's licenses?

  • What states have legislation that could be modeled in others.
  • What are the effects of aging on driving ability?

  • How can each person's differing abilities be taken into consideration?

  • What modifications or new technologies can automobile manufacturers add for aging drivers?

  • What changes can be made to highways to make them safer for aged drivers?

  • How does Alzheimer's disease effect driving ability?

  • Should mandatory driving and vision tests should be administered over a certain age?
  • Should medical reviews submitted by physicians be used to determine the fitness of elderly drivers?
 

Reference Books

Statistical Abstract of the United States (Reference Desk)


Gallup Poll: Public Opinion REF HN 90 .P8 G35 "Elderly Drivers"

 

 

Suggested Databases

  • CQ Researcher Plus Archive  
      
    CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, and graphs.
  • Issues and Controversies  
      
    Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
  • Opposing Viewpoints  
      
    Opposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more social issues.
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
  • America's Newspapers  
      
    America's Newspapers from NewsBank provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers - all in one easy-to-search database.
  • Subject Specific Databases
 

Statistics

 

Statistical Abstract of the United States (also at Reference Desk)


Information Plus:  Growing Old in America (also in the Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center  Database)

Gallup Poll: Public Opinion REF HN 90 .P8 G35 "Elderly Drivers"


Older Americans: A Changing Market: The American Generations Series REF HQ1064 .U5 O43 p. 60-62

 


Subject Guide

Profile Image
Neil Linger
 

Login Required

[BC Library Card]

To log in to the library databases, e-books, and My Account, use your BC student ID number as your Borrower ID. Your PIN is now your birthday in MMDD format (for example, if your birthday is July 4th, your PIN is 0704). If you are having difficulty accessing from off-campus, please contact the U/C library at 954.201.6653 or 954.201.6223.

Cite Your Sources

Eventually, all students have to learn to properly cite their sources for their research. Some classes require MLA style, while others use APA. This page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)

  • MLA Update 2009
    In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
    These changes go into effect in April 2009.
  • Sample of MLA Work Cited Page
    From Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
  • Citation Builder - NCSU
    Citation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip