This is the "Pathfinder" page of the "Affirmative Action" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Affirmative Action  

Last Updated: Nov 23, 2010 URL: http://libguides.broward.edu/Affirmative_Action Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis
Pathfinder Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Finding Books

Books
Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.


eBooks
eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.

Note: You will have to login with your BC ID# and Your default PIN is a 4 digit code based on your birth date: MMDD. (For example, if you were born on July 04, your PIN is 0704.) Updated on 01/25/12, DT.

Google It




 

Definition

Affirmative action refers to policies aimed at increasing the numbers of people from certain social groups in employment, education, business, government, and other areas.” (World Book Encyclopedia, 1994)

 

Narrow the Topic

 

  • Can the Supreme Court end affirmative action?
  • Does affirmative action promote equality in the workplace or in education?
  • Should a company hire you based on your qualifications or based on affirmative action policy?
  • Was the University of California Board of Regents justified in ending affirmative action preference for admissions?
  • Will minorities be penalized by the University of California Board of Regents’ decision?
  • What is the future of affirmative action?
  • Discuss the Supreme Court and reverse discrimination.
  • How can socio-economic affirmative action be achieved?
  • Is affirmative action reverse discrimination?
  • Should Colorado's "Formal Equity" be a model?
  • How long should affirmative action laws be in effect?
 

AVAILABLE AT THE REFERENCE DESK:

Cover Art
Affirmative Action: At Issue
(also available in the Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center Database)

Cover Art
Opposing Viewpoints
Affirmative Action; Students' Rights; Interracial America; Discrimination (also available in the Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center Database)


CQ Researcher
10/17/2008

Racism: Current Controversies - Merino, Noel
(also available in the Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center Database)

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of educational reform and dissent
Call Number: REF LB2805 .E528 2010

 
 

Reference Books

Affirmative Action: An Encyclopedia
Call Number: REF HF 5549.5 .A34 A426 2004

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Disability
Call Number: REF HV 1568 .E528 2006
"Quota Hiring Policy"

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History
Call Number: REF E 185 .E54 2006
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice
Call Number: REF HM 671 .E53 2007

Cover Art
West’s Encyclopedia of American Law
Call Number: REF KF 154 .W47

 

Suggested Databases

  • CQ Researcher Plus Archive  
      
    CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, and graphs.
  • Issues and Controversies  
      
    Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
  • Opposing Viewpoints  
      
    Opposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more social issues.
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
  • America's Newspapers  
      
    America's Newspapers from NewsBank provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers - all in one easy-to-search database.
  • Subject Specific Databases
 

Statistics

Information Plus: Minorities
Call Number: Ask at the Reference Desk
(also available in the Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center Database)

 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Neil Linger
 

Login Required

[BC Library Card]

To log in to the library databases, e-books, and My Account, use your BC student ID number as your Borrower ID. Your PIN is now your birthday in MMDD format (for example, if your birthday is July 4th, your PIN is 0704). If you are having difficulty accessing from off-campus, please contact the U/C library at 954.201.6653 or 954.201.6223.

Cite Your Sources

Eventually, all students have to learn to properly cite their sources for their research. Some classes require MLA style, while others use APA. This page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)

  • MLA Update 2009
    In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
    These changes go into effect in April 2009.
  • Sample of MLA Work Cited Page
    From Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
  • Citation Builder - NCSU
    Citation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip