Finding Books
Books
Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.
eBooks
eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.
Note: You will have to login with your BC ID# and Your default PIN is a 4 digit code based on your birth date: MMDD. (For example, if you were born on July 04, your PIN is 0704.) Updated on 01/25/12, DT.
Google It
Definition
"Academic tenure is the academic teacher’s or researcher’s claim to or guarantee of permanence of the position to which he has been appointed by a college or university." (Encyclopedia of Education, p. 257)
Narrow the topic
- Is
tenure necessary to protect academic freedom?
- Does
tenure have an ill effect on faculty teaching responsibilities?
- Does
tenure effect faculty productivity?
- Do
female faculty have a more difficult time obtaining tenure then males?
- Is race an issue in obtaining tenure?
- Is gender a factor in granting tenure?
Available at the Reference Desk
CQ Researcher Plus Archive "Academic Freedom" 10/17/2005
International Encyclopedia of Education (Women and Academic Careers) v. 11
Reference Books
-
Call Number: REF LB15 .D37American Educator’s Encyclopedia ("Tenure") - American
Public School Law

Call Number: REF KF 4118 .A39 2001 - Encyclopedia of American Education ("Tenure")

Call Number: REF LB 17.U54 1996 v.3 - West's Encyclopedia of American Law

Call Number: REF HT 1521 .E63 2008 - Higher
Education in the United States: an Encyclopedia

Call Number: REF LA 225 .H54 v.2
-
Suggested Databases
- CQ Researcher Plus Archive CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, and graphs.
- Issues and Controversies Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
- Opposing Viewpoints Opposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more social issues.
- Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
- America's Newspapers America's Newspapers from NewsBank provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers - all in one easy-to-search database.
- Subject Specific Databases
Statistics
AVAILABLE AT THE REFERENCE DESK:
American Educator’s Encyclopedia ("Tenure") REF LB 15.D37 c.2
American Public School Law KF 4118 .A39 2001
Encyclopedia of American Education ("Tenure") REF LB 17.U54 1996 v.3
West’s Encyclopedia of American Law REF KF 154 .W47
Higher Education in the United States: an Encyclopedia REF LA 225 .H54 2002 v.2
Subject Guide |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Login Required
To log in to the library databases, e-books, and My Account, use your BC student ID number as your Borrower ID. Your PIN is now your birthday in MMDD format (for example, if your birthday is July 4th, your PIN is 0704). If you are having difficulty accessing from off-campus, please contact the U/C library at 954.201.6653 or 954.201.6223.
Cite Your Sources
Eventually, all students have to learn to properly cite their sources for their research. Some classes require MLA style, while others use APA. This page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)
- MLA Update 2009In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
These changes go into effect in April 2009. - Sample of MLA Work Cited PageFrom Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
- Citation Builder - NCSUCitation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.

![[BC Library Card]](http://ucl.broward.edu/gif/BCID.gif)
Loading...
