This is the "Pathfinder" page of the "Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)  

Last Updated: Jul 6, 2011 URL: http://libguides.broward.edu/ADHD Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis
Pathfinder Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Finding Books

Books
Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.


eBooks
eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.

Note: You will have to login with your BC ID# and Your default PIN is a 4 digit code based on your birth date: MMDD. (For example, if you were born on July 04, your PIN is 0704.) Updated on 01/25/12, DT.

Google It




 

Definition

“A persistent pattern of inattention and hyperactivity-impulsivity or both, occurring more frequently and severely than is typical in individuals at a comparable level of development.  The illness may begin in early childhood, but symptoms have been present for many years.  The prevalence is estimated to be 3 to 5 percent in children; data for adults are not available.”  (Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary)

 

Narrow the topic

· What are the latest treatments for ADHD and which offers the greatest promise?

· How effective are drugs like Ritalin in the treatment of ADHD and why are they so controversial?

· Could ADHD be caused by maternal smoking?

· Is ADHD genetic?

· Should drugs for ADHD be marketed to consumers?

· How should teachers best deal with students with ADHD?


 

Available at the Reference Desk

Issues & Controversies : "Attention Deficit / Hyperactivity Disorder 4/9/1999 p. 145-152; "Special Education" 9/07/07

At Issue: Attention Deficit / Hyperactivity Disorder (also available in the Opposing Viewpoints Database)

Opposing Viewpoints: Mental Illness

Encyclopedia of Schizophrenia and Psychotic Disorders

Encyclopedia of Mental Health

 

Reference Books

Cover Art
Conn’s current therapy
Call Number: REF RM 101 .C87

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of human development
Call Number: REF HM626 .E53

Cover Art
Psychology and mental health
Call Number: REF RC437 .P795

Cover Art
Gale encyclopedia of mental health
Call Number: REF RC437 .G36




Cover Art
Magill's Medical Guide
Call Number: REF RC41 .M34 2011

 

Suggested Databases

  • CQ Researcher Plus Archive  
      
    CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, and graphs.
  • Issues and Controversies  
      
    Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
  • Opposing Viewpoints  
      
    Opposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more social issues.
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
  • America's Newspapers  
      
    America's Newspapers from NewsBank provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers - all in one easy-to-search database.
  • Subject Specific Databases
 

Statistics

Statistical Record of Children

National Institute of Mental Health

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Information Plus: Mental Health; Health and Wellness (Ref Desk) (also available in the Opposing Viewpoints Database)

 

 


Subject Guide

Profile Image
Neil Linger
 

Login Required

[BC Library Card]

To log in to the library databases, e-books, and My Account, use your BC student ID number as your Borrower ID. Your PIN is now your birthday in MMDD format (for example, if your birthday is July 4th, your PIN is 0704). If you are having difficulty accessing from off-campus, please contact the U/C library at 954.201.6653 or 954.201.6223.

Cite Your Sources

Eventually, all students have to learn to properly cite their sources for their research. Some classes require MLA style, while others use APA. This page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)

  • MLA Update 2009
    In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
    These changes go into effect in April 2009.
  • Sample of MLA Work Cited Page
    From Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
  • Citation Builder - NCSU
    Citation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip